Couple on holiday

Maximizing 2018 Public Holidays

7 May 2017

It's never too early to talk about public holidays for the next year. With 17 public holidays in 2018, it only means more opportunity to hop on a flight and explore the amazing countries nearby Hong Kong.

I am sure we have all experienced trying to book an escape a few weeks in advance of a public holiday where flights are often at least twice the normal price and hotels availability is at an all time low.

Here is our guide to making the most out of the Hong Kong public holidays for 2018. Combine public holidays with weekends and you get a longer holiday.

New Year (1 January, Monday)
Take 3 days off work (27-29 December 2017, Wednesday-Friday), and you can have a 10-day combined Christmas, Boxing Day, New Year holiday!

Chinese New Year (16-19 February, Friday-Monday)
The CNY holiday dates in 2018 allows us to have a proper long weekend (Friday to Monday).

Easter & Ching Ming Festival (30 March to 2 April, Friday to Monday; and 5 April, Thursday)
Combine Easter and Ching Ming Festival. Take 3 days off work (3, 4, 6 April), and you can have a 10-day holiday!

May Public Holidays (1 May & 22 May, both Tuesdays)
Take 1 day off work (30 April, Monday; and 21 May, Monday) and enjoy a good long weekend

Dragon Boat Weekend (18 June, Monday)
Take 1 day off work (10 June, Friday), and you can have a 4-day weekend break!

July, September and October holidays
HKSAR Day Holiday on 2 July (Monday)
Mid Autumn Holiday on 25 September (Tuesday)
National Day on 1 October (Monday)
Chung Yeung Festival on 17 October

Christmas/New Year (25-26 December, Tuesday-Wednesday)
Take 4 days off work (24, 27,28, 31 December), and you can have a 11-day holiday!

Planning ahead is the key to maximising your annual leave, grabbing the best deals, along with having lots of choice and options on where you want to go.

Flight Centre Consultants

At Flight Centre, our consultants have travelled far and wide to offer you informed assistance when it comes to booking your next trip. These blog posts showcase just some of the experiences our consultants have had on recent adventures. We hope you enjoy reading these blog articles.